Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt

SEC Media Days Line-Up Announced

SEC Media Days kicks off next Wednesday and once again, will be your best place to turn for up-to-the-minute, wire-to-wire coverage of every team.  And, as always, we’ll also provide our ranking of the coaches’ “performances” before the main media hall.  (We noticed a few other mainstream writers began doing that last year as well.)

Yesterday, the Southeastern Conference released the schedule for next week’s events and they’re as follows:

Wednesday, July 20th

1:00 – 3:50pm ET

Arkansas — Bobby Petrino, Knile Davis, Jarius Wright, Tenarius Wright

Florida — Will Muschamp, John Brantley, William Green, Deonte Thompson

3:20 – 6:00pm ET

South Carolina — Steve Spurrier, Alshon Jeffrey, Marcus Lattimore, Travian Robertson

Mississippi State — Dan Mullen, Vick Ballard, Fletcher Cox, Chris Relf

Thursday, July 21st

8:30 – 11:20am ET

Kentucky — Joker Phillips, Stuart Hines, Danny Trevathan, Morgan Newton

Georgia — Mark Richt, Brandon Boykin, Ben Jones, Aaron Murray

10:50am – 1:30pm ET

Auburn — Gene Chizik, Emory Blake, Nosa Equae, Phillip Lutzenkirchen

Tennessee — Derek Dooley, Malik Jackson, Tauren Poole, Dallas Thomas

Friday, July 22nd

8:30 – 11:20am ET

Alabama — Nick Saban, Mark Barron, Dont’a Hightower, Trent Richardson

Vanderbilt — James Franklin, Casey Hayward, Chris Marve, Larry Smith

10:50am – 1:30pm ET

Ole Miss — Houston Nutt, Brandon Bolden, Kentrell Lockett, Bradley Sowell

LSU — Les Miles, Ryan Baker, Jordan Jefferson, Russell Shepard

There was a time when Media Days was filled with senior players.  They might not have been the biggest stars in the league, but it was believed that seniors had paid their dues and deserved the attention. 

While seniors still dominate the line-up — 22 will be at the meetings outside of Birmingham — there are now juniors and even sophomores taking part.

Alabama, Arkansas and Auburn are each bringing two juniors.  LSU, Tennessee, Kentucky, Mississippi State and South Carolina are also bringing at least one junior to face the media.

Auburn (DT Equae), Georgia (QB Murray), and Carolina (RB Lattimore) are all bringing sophomores. 

This change reflects two things: the growing power of the media (the SEC wants to show off its brightest stars) and the number of superstars who leave college early for the NFL.  As a result, the SEC changed it’s set-up last year, requesting schools bring three players rather than two… which had previously been the case.

Post Comments » Comments (7)



Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC