Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt

Draft Domination: Through Three Rounds, 32 SEC Players; ACC Next With 12

nfl-draft-podium-tightEight SEC players were taken in the second round of the NFL draft Friday night.  Another twelve were selected in the third round.  Combined with the 12 players picked in round one, the SEC can claim 32 of the 97 players (includes compensatory picks) taken so far.  That’s basically one out three coming from America’ s best conference.

Here’s how the SEC stacks up to other power conferences.

SEC – 32

ACC – 12

Pac-12 – 11

Big 12 – 8

Big East – 8

Big Ten – 7

Here’s Friday night’s SEC breakdown:

Second Round

TN – Justin Hunter, Tennessee

MSU – Darius Slay, Detroit

MSU -Johnthan Banks, Tampa Bay

LSU – Kevin Minter, Arizona

FL – Jon Bostic, Chicago

USC – D.J. Swearinger, Houston

AL – Eddie Lacy, Green Bay

A&M – Christine Michael, Seattle

Third Round

KY – Larry Warford, Detroit

LSU – Bennie Logan, Philadelphia

LSU – Tyrann Mathieu, Arizona

TN – Dallas Thomas, Miami

A&M – Damontre Moore, New York Giants

GA – John Jenkins, New Orleans

GA – Shawn Williams, Cincinnati

FL – Jordan Reed, Washington

AU – Corey Lemonier, San Francisco

LSU – Sam Montgomery, Houston

ARK – Knile Davis, Kansas City

MO – Zaviar Gooden, Tennessee

* With two players taken in the first round, one in the second and three in the third, LSU now has six players selected in the draft, the most of any SEC team.

* Two of LSU’s selections, linebacker Kevin Minter and defensive back Tyrann Mathieu, are headed to Arizona where they’ll be reunited with former teammate Patrick Peterson. Mathieu and Peterson were roommates in 2010. Mathieu is expected to play safety for the Cardinals.

* Alabama three first-round picks were followed by just one player on Day Two of the draft.  Eddie Lacy, projected by many as a first-round pick, fell to the bottom of the second round.  He wasn’t even the first running back taken.  Three others preceded him in round two.

* Tennessee’s Justin Hunter won’t have far to travel, making the move down Interstate 40 from Knoxville to Nashville. The Titans have made four picks and three of them are on former SEC players.  After taking Alabama’s Chance Warmack in the first round and Hunter in the second, Tennessee used their second of two third-round picks on Missouri linebacker Zaviar Gooden.

* Florida linebacker Jon Bostic is headed to Chicago where he could be asked to fill the shoes of departing Bears star Brian Urlacher.

* Five teams shut out of the first round had players taken Friday night. Arkansas, Auburn, Kentucky and South Carolina all had one player drafted while Mississippi State had two with defensive backs Darius Slay and Johnthan Banks.

* Georgia had a defensive back taken Friday night but maybe not the one a lot of people expected.  Safety Shawn Williams is headed to Cincinnati, joining a bevy of former Bulldogs drafted by the Bengals.  Teammate and fellow safety Bacarri Rambo has yet to be taken.

* Of the 14 SEC schools, only two failed to generate a draft pick in the first three rounds- Ole Miss and Vanderbilt.

* Here are a few household name SEC players that have yet to get their ticket punched: quarterbacks Tyler Wilson of Arkansas and Tyler Bray of Tennessee, Alabama center Barrett Jones and who will pull the trigger on South Carolina running back Marcus Lattimore?  The draft concludes today with rounds four through seven.

Post Comments » Comments (47)



Jrlz talks Basketball part I: March Madness Changes 101

Content provided by And The Valley Shook.


The bracket you see here is not quite accurate.  This will be explained below.



The biggest news in hoops this off-season is that the number of teams in the tournament has been increased from 65 to 68.

The new NCAA tournament is made up of 31 automatic bids and 37 at-large berths.

The automatic qualifiers are the winners of each of the 30 conference tournaments plus the Ivy League’s regular season conference champion.  The at-large berths are awarded to the teams the NCAA selection committee deems the best 37 of the remaining field.

Now, all these teams are ranked, roughly, from first to 68.  The last dozen of these teams are always automatic qualifiers from weak conferences like the Big South, the Northeast, etc.  Back when there was 65 teams, the bottom two of these teams, 64 and 65, got their own matchup, and the winner would face a #1 seed team.  That was the “play-in game”.  

This year, there will be four play-in games (“the First Four”, which will be played at the University of Dayton Arena in Dayton, Ohio), and not all of these games are the same.

Two of these play-in games will be played between the last four automatic qualifiers, teams 65 through 68.  The winners of these two games will face a #1 seed team, a set-up similar to the play-in game that we’ve known for many years.

The other two “first four” games?  That’s where things get interesting.  You know how they always talk about the “last four teams in” when March nears?  They are referring to the last four teams to receive at-large berths.  These teams usually get inserted as #13 or #14 seeds.  Now, these “last four in” get their own two play-in games, but the winners of these two games will not face a #1 seeded team, but rather, a #3 or #4 seed team, and where these two play-in games will be placed on the bracket will be determined by the selection committee when the time comes.

So the bracket pictured above isn’t exactly accurate.  Two of the play-in winners will indeed face a #1 seed, but the other two play-in winners will face a #3 or #4 seed.  The actual bracket we will see come March will be a little odder looking than you’re used to, but the two at-large “First Four” games promise to deliver a couple of intriguing matchups that will get everybody warmed up for Madness.

These changes have a ripple effect on the rest of the tournament.  The fields of 64 and 32, previously referred to as the first round and the second round respectively, will now be called the second round and the third round.  So now you have:

First Four (last four automatic bids, last four at-large berths)

Second Round (field of 64)

Third Round (field of 32)

Sweet Sixteen

Elite Eight

Final Four (at Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas)


So, do you like the change?  If you were Czar of the NCAA, how would you lay out college basketball’s postseason?

Also, “Drive for 65″ is obsolete.  ”Skate for 68″?  Any other suggestions?

Post Comments » No Comments



Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC