Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt

Auburn Climbs A Long Way To The Top

Auburn’s 22-19 victory over Oregon last night not only assured the Tigers of their first national crown since 1957, but it also marked the steepest climb for any #1 ranked team in AP Top 25 poll history.

The poll expanded to 25 teams in 1989 and since that time no team has climbed as far as Gene Chizik’s Tigers did in 2010.  AU began the season ranked #22, but at 14-0 they’ve ended the year on top.

TCU — winners over Wisconsin in the Rose Bowl — finished #2.  Oregon dropped from #2 to #3 in the final poll.

Below is the final AP Poll.  You’ll notice that three voters chose TCU as their national champion.  Those voters were either making a pro-little guy or anti-Cam Newton statement, no doubt.

1.  Auburn (56 first-place votes)
2.  TCU (3)
3.  Oregon
4.  Stanford
5.  Ohio State
6.  Oklahoma
7.  Wisconsin
8.  LSU
9.  Boise State
10.  Alabama
11.  Nevada
12.  Arkansas
13.  Oklahoma State
14.  Michigan State
15.  Mississippi State
16.  Virginia Tech
17.  Florida State
18.  Missouri
19.  Texas A&M
20.  Nebraska
21.  UCF
22.  South Carolina
23.  Maryland
24.  Tulsa
25.  North Carolina State

Florida received 19 votes but not did not make the final rankings.

And here is the final USA Today Top 25 Coaches’ Poll:

1.  Auburn (56)
2.  TCU (1, though coaches aren’t supposed to vote for anyone other than the BCS champ)
3.  Oregon
4.  Stanford
5.  Ohio State
6.  Oklahoma
7.  Boise State
8t.  LSU
8t.  Wisconsin
10.  Oklahoma State
11.  Alabama
12.  Arkansas
13.  Nevada
14.  Michigan State
15.  Virginia Tech
16.  Florida State
17.  Mississippi State
18.  Missouri
19.  Nebraska
20.  UCF
21.  Texas A&M
22.  South Carolina
23.  Utah
24.  Maryland
25.  North Carolina State

Florida received 10 votes in this poll but did not make the final rankings.  And in case you’re wondering, TCU’s Gary Patterson does not have a vote… so some other coach tabbed the Horned Frogs as his national champ.

Post Comments » One Comment



Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC