Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt

“Hey, It Looks Like Another No Repeat Decade In The SEC”

Technically, Alabama’s chances of repeating as SEC champs are still alive. 


The Tide will need a three-way or four-way tie in the West Division to slide into Atlanta via tie-breakers.  It’s been a wacky year in the conference, but it’s unlikely things will get that wacky.  And if they don’t, it will prove once again just how tough the Southeastern Conference really is.

Did you realize that if Bama doesn’t win the league in miracle fashion this year, it will mark the 12th year in a row that the SEC will crown a new champion?

2010 — ???
2009 — Alabama
2008 — Florida
2007 — LSU
2006 — Florida
2005 — Georgia
2004 — Auburn
2003 — LSU
2002 — Georgia
2001 — LSU
2000 — Florida
1999 — Alabama
1998 — Tennessee
1997 — Tennessee

The last time a team repeated as SEC champs was 1997-98 when Tennessee pulled the feat.

That’s a good bit of information to remember should your favorite team capture the SEC flag next month at the Georgia Dome.  Next August, when you’re starting to believe the talk that your fave school will win it all again… slow down, take a deep breath, and remind yourself that the SEC isn’t big on repeat champions. 

Post Comments » One Comment



Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC