Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt

Afternoon SEC Headlines – 7/15/13

newspaper-extra-extra1.  Hotshot receiver prospect Earnest Robinson has reportedly failed to qualify academically at Auburn and will enroll at East Mississippi Community College instead.

2.  Tony Barnhart of covers five topics that figure to be hot at SEC Media Days this week.

3.  Pay attention, SEC Network fans: The new all-sports network from FOX that’s supposed to challenge ESPN hasn’t yet reached carriage deals with DirecTV, Dish or Time Warner Cable.  The new channel will launch on August 17th.  (No word on whether they’ve cut a deal with AT&T U-verse.)

4.  The list of candidates for the Lombardi Award is 100 names deep.

5.  The Butkus Award list is a lengthy one, too.

A Basketball Bonus:  Dick Vitale believes it’s time for troubled/suspended Ole Miss guard Marshall Henderson to take a look in the mirror.

Post Comments » Comments (4)



SEC Headlines – 7/13/11 Part Three

1.  Here’s the watch list for the Lombardi Award.  At first glance it appears 18 SEC’ers are in the running to be named football’s best lineman.

2.  But this writer thinks award watch lists are long and useless.  (Amen, brother.)

3.  If you’re planning on playing EA Sports’ new NCAA Football 12 video game, here’s a breakdown of each SEC squads’ game grades.

4.  An online poll says Paul Finebaum is the most hated man in the SEC.  (Apparently because he allows his callers to say anything and everything.)

5.  Former Arkansas baseball signee Houston Pruitt will walk-on to the Hogs’ football team instead.

6. says Florida, LSU and Alabama had some of the 10 best recruiting classes of the past decade… with UF’s 2006 class taking top prize.  (Tim Tebow, Percy Harvin, Brandon Spikes.  No wonder.)

Post Comments » No Comments



SEC Announces Individual Honors

It’s going to be a busy day here at so we’re going to focus on what’s most important — coaching searches.

That means we’re not going to break our fingers speedily reporting every award or postseason honor that’s handed out today.  So if you’re wondering why you don’t see long posts about Auburn’s Nick Fairley winning the Lombardi Award — and he did — that’s why.

Yesterday evening the SEC announced its individual awards.  Those award-winners were chosen by a vote of league coaches.  You can find more here, but below is the list of honorees:

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Alabama QB Greg McElroy

Offensive Player of the Year
Auburn QB Cam Newton

Defensive Player of the Year
LSU CB Patrick Peterson — Which likely tells us how much coaches had to gameplan around him in 2010

Special Teams Player of the Year
LSU KR/PR Patrick Peterson — A double-dip for Peterson

Freshman of the Year
South Carolina RB Marcus Lattimore

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy
Auburn OT Lee Ziemba

Coach of the Year
South Carolina’s Steve Spurrier — Carolina has gone 5-3 in SEC play before, but this year a down SEC East opened the door to Atlanta.  This vote shows us just how well respected Spurrier is amongst his peers.  It might also tells us that rival coaches have some questions about how Newton arrived at Auburn.

Post Comments » One Comment



Nick Fairley Wins Lombardi Award

Auburn defensive tackle Nick Fairley has won the Lombardi Award as the nation’s top collegiate lineman.

Post Comments » No Comments



Nevis One of 10 Lombardi Award Semifinalists

BATON ROUGE – LSU defensive tackle Drake Nevis is one of 12 players nationwide who have been named to the list of semifinalists for the Lombardi Award, the Rotary Lombardi Award announced on Friday.

Post Comments » No Comments



Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC