Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt

First Playoff Title Game To Go To One Of Six Bowl Sites

The new college football playoff hasn’t come into existence yet and already tweaks are being made.  Example:  Initially, the conference commissioners had planned to use six bowls as part of the overall playoff rotation, but last week word came that a seventh bowl might be added (to give more opportunities to small-conference schools, no doubt in the hopes of fending off potential lawsuits).

Now comes word that the championship game will not be bid out to any ol’ city as initially expected.  Instead, sources told that in order to “expedite the process,” the first playoff title game on January 12, 2015 will go to one of six cities, all of which currently host a bowl game:


Arlington, Texas (Cotton Bowl)

Atlanta, Georgia (Chick-fil-A Bowl)

Glendale, Arizona (Fiesta Bowl)

Miami, Florida (Orange Bowl)

New Orleans, Louisiana (Sugar Bowl)

Pasadena, California (Rose Bowl)


Starting in 2016, any city can bid to host championship game, while the semifinals will rotate through the six — or seven — bowls picked to be, basically, “big boy” games.

Let’s get back to that date of January 12th, just for a second.  Wasn’t this whole thing supposed to speed up the college football season to make sure that it didn’t stretch further into January and into the dreaded second semester than university presidents have so often used as a reason to nix a playoff?  Well, that title game on the 12th will be the latest date for a championship game in college football history.

As usual, the conference commissioners and presidents say one thing… but do another.  Proving that we could have had a playoff years ago.  (As if you needed me to point that out to you.)

Post Comments » Comments (2)



Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC