Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt

Allen Wins Player of the Year

Content provided by The Slophouse.

SPRINGDALE – Fayetteville quarterback and Arkansas commit Brandon Allen won the Northwest Arkansas Touchdown Club Player of the Year award on Wednesday.

Allen beat out fellow finalists Shiloh Christian quarterback Kiehl Frazier and Springdale Har-Ber offensive tackle Brey Cook. It was the inaugural player of the year award given by the club, which is also in its first year.

“It’s just an honor,” Allen said. “To be in the running with guys like Kiehl Frazier and Brey Cook – those are some big names right there with a lot of scholarship offers. Those are probably the two biggest names in our class, so it’s a huge honor to be here with them.”

The trio headlined the state’s talented senior class all season and have more than 40 combined scholarship offers. Allen and Cook are verbally committed to Arkansas, while Frazier committed to Auburn earlier this year. Cook, a 5-star prospect, will begin classes at the UA in January.

Allen became the first player from the state’s largest classification to pass for more than 10,000 yards in a career. The senior quarterbacked the Bulldogs to a Class 7A runner-up finish by passing for 3,419 yards and 38 touchdowns, and no interceptions in the regular season.

“That was our goal all year was to get to the state game,” Allen said. “To get there and come up short was heart-breaking, but we accomplished a lot this year.”

Allen was a unanimous selection for the award, which was presented by

Former Arkansas coach Danny Ford was the keynote speaker at the club’s final meet this year. For more on what Ford had to say, read Clay Henry’s State of the Hogs: Ford Unchanged.

For more visit You can follow Matt Jones on Twitter @NWAMatt.

Post Comments » No Comments



Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC