Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt

Mallett a Manning Award Finalist

Content provided by The Slophouse.

FAYETTEVILLE - Arkansas quarterback Ryan Mallett is one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award, presented to the nation’s best quarterback following postseason play.

Mallett and Auburn’s Cam Newton are the only quarterbacks from the Southeastern Conference on the list. Other notables include Stanford’s Andrew Luck, Boise State’s Kellen Moore, TCU’s Andy Dalton and Ohio State’s Terrelle Pryor.

Mallett has passed for 3,592 yards and 30 touchdowns, with 11 interceptions this season. On Saturday the second-year starter set the school record for career touchdown passes (60).

Earlier this month Mallett was not named one of the three finalists for the Davey O’Brien Award.

Mallett is the second Arkansas player to be named a finalist for an individual award this season. D.J. Williams is one of three finalists for the Mackey Award, given to the nation’s best tight end.

Also Monday, the Broyles Award announced its five finalists for the nation’s best assistant coach. Razorbacks offensive coordinator Garrick McGee, one of 36 nominees, was not on the list, though two former Arkansas and current Auburn offensive coordinator Gus Malzahn was. TCU defensive coordinator Dick Bumpas, a former Arkansas player, was also one of the finalists.

For more visit You can follow Matt Jones on Twitter @NWAMatt.

Post Comments » No Comments



Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC