Before we go any further, the folks at SEC Media Days have had a rough time picking SEC champs.  In fact, just four times in the last 22 years has the group successfully tabbed the eventual champion in July.  One reason -- the media typically selects the previous year's champion to repeat and followers of the league know that no school has repeated as SEC titlists since Tennessee way back in 1997 and 1998.

But this year the media took a different path.  The folks in Hoover, Alabama didn't select Auburn, last year's champ.  They took Alabama to capture the SEC crown.

Here's the vote tally for both division races and the overall championship push:


SEC East

S. Carolina 1,895

Georgia, 1,777

Florida 1,362

Missouri 1,263

Tennessee 893

Vanderbilt 619

Kentucky 395


SEC West

Alabama 1,915

Auburn 1,735

LSU 1,453

Ole Miss 1,069

Miss. State 890

Texas A&M 791

Arkansas 351


Overall SEC Champion

Alabama 154

Auburn 75

S. Carolina 32

Georgia 19


Ole Miss 2

Arkansas 1

Miss. State 1


Someone -- likely someone sporting a pig on their shirt and not a real media member -- threw their vote toward Arkansas.  The Hogs were 3-9 last year and 0-8 in the SEC.  That's the exact same record Auburn had in 2012 before rising to the top of the heap a season ago.  Hmmm.

The league also released the media's All-SEC selections this morning.