Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt
Latest News

Players Caldwell-Pope, Noel And Coach Billy Donovan Top SEC Award Winners

honorsGeorgia’s Kentavious Caldwell-Pope is the SEC Player of the Year. The league announced its postseason award winners today with Caldwell-Pope becoming the first Georgia player to receive the award.   The sophomore was asked today if he’s headed to the NBA: “We’ve got the SEC tournament to worry about. I’ve just got that on my mind right now.” He did indicate he’ll make a decision on possible early entry after the season is over.

Kentucky’s Nerlens Noel was voted the SEC Freshman of the Year, and along with Alabama’s Trevor Releford, one of only two players to be named First Team All-SEC and be named to the SEC all-defensive team.

Florida’s Billy Donovan was recognized as the SEC coach of the year, the second time he’s won the award. The conference-champion Gators placed four players on the first or second All-SEC squads, the most of any team in the conference.

Eight different schools are represented on the First Team All-SEC squad.

Florida’s Patric Young won the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year while Kentucky’s Kyle Wiltjer was voted the league’s Sixth Man of the Year, a move that didn’t sit well with everyone.

Here’s the complete list of postseason award winners. Twelve of the 14 teams were represented – only Auburn and Vanderbilt were completely shut out.

First Team All-SEC                                                                          
Trevor Releford, Alabama – G, 6-1, 195, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
Erik Murphy, Florida – F/C, 6-10, 238, Sr., South Kingstown, R.I.
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia – G, 6-5, 205, So., Greenville, Ga.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.
Johnny O’Bryant III, LSU – F, 6-9, 256, So., Cleveland, Miss.
Phil Pressey, Missouri – G, 5-11, 175, Jr., Dallas, Texas
Jordan McRae, Tennessee – G, 6-5, 178, Jr., Midway, Ga.
Elston Turner, Texas A&M – G, 6-5, 209, Sr., Sacramento, Calif

Second Team All-SEC                                                                  
Marshawn Powell, Arkansas – F, 6-7, 240, Jr., Newport News, Va.
BJ Young, Arkansas – G, 6-3, 180, So, St. Louis, Mo.
Kenny Boynton, Florida – G, 6-2, 190, Sr., Pompano Beach, Fla.
Mike Rosario, Florida – G, 6-3, 183, Sr., Jersey City, N.J.
Patric Young, Florida – C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.
Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss – G, 6-2, 175, Jr., Hurst, Texas
Murphy Holloway, Ole Miss – F, 6-7, 240, Sr., Irmo, S.C.
Laurence Bowers, Missouri – F, 6-8, 227, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.
Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee – F, 6-8, 270, So., Memphis, Tenn.

SEC All-Freshman Team                                                            
Michael Frazier II, Florida – G, 6-4, 200, Fr., Tampa, Fla.
Charles Mann, Georgia – G, 6-4, 205, Fr., Alpharetta, Ga.
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky – F, 7-0, 244, Fr., Olathe, Kan.
Archie Goodwin, Kentucky – G, 6-4.5, 198, Fr., Little Rock, Ark.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.
Alex Poythress, Kentucky – F, 6-7, 239, Fr., Clarksville, Tenn.
Craig Sword, Mississippi State – G, 6-3, 189, Fr., Montgomery, Ala.
Gavin Ware, Mississippi State – F, 6-9, 270, Fr., Starkville, Miss.
Michael Carrera, South Carolina – F, 6-5, 212, Fr., Anzoátegui, Venezuela

SEC All-Defensive Team                                                               
Trevor Releford, Alabama – G, 6-1, 185, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
Scottie Wilbekin, Florida – G, 6-2, 176, Jr., Gainesville, Fla.
Patric Young, Florida – C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.
Anthony Hickey, LSU – G, 5-11, 178, So., Hopkinsville, Ky.
Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss – F, 6-9, 235, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.

SEC Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan, Florida
SEC Player of the Year: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia
SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Patric Young, Florida
SEC Freshman of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky
SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer, Kentucky
SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky



Why is there 8 on the first team? And 9 on the second team?  Shouldn't be 5 or 6 at the most?


K Bell is left off the team?  Phil makes First Team?  Interesting.  Thought was K Bell might be a contender for SEC Player of the Year, but here he does not make top sixteen.

Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC