Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt
Latest News

Texas A&M Quarterback Johnny Manziel Is A Heisman Trophy Winner

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel became the first freshman in the 78-year history of the Heisman Trophy to win the award Saturday night in New York.

“It’s so humbling for me to be the first freshman to win and really make history. I can’t explain it. It’s just truly so awesome, something I’m so, so pumped about,” said Manziel.

The Aggies quarterback received 474 first-place votes, 153 more than Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o, who finished second.  Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein finished third.

In his acceptance speech, Manziel took time to mention former Texas A&M coach Mike Sherman and former quarterbacks coach Tom Rossley.  “Without [them] giving me a chance at A&M none of this would be possible,” Manziel said. “I’m so thankful for them. Those guys are still people I hold near and dear to my heart.”

Manziel won five of the six voting regions.  South Carolina’s Jadeveon Clowney received four first-place votes.  Georgia’s Jarvis Jones received one.



Gig 'em Aggies! I wonder how much more $ Texas A&M and the SEC will make with a Heisman around for up to 3 more years?

Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC