Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt
Latest News

Tyler’s Take: The Next Wave Of Expansion

Tyler B.

As acting President of College Football here’s what NCAA football will look like in 2017.

FBS Teams: 80

Conferences: Five conferences with 16 teams; each with two divisions of eight.

Since we’re all things SEC, let’s use the SEC and Bama as examples.

SEC South: Alabama, Auburn, Ole Miss, Miss. State

SEC North: Kentucky, Vanderbilt, Tennessee, Virginia Tech

SEC East: Georgia, Florida, Florida State, South Carolina

SEC West:  Arkansas, Missouri, Texas A&M, LSU

Schedule: Nine conference games. Bama always plays the three teams in the SEC South division to determine a division champion. Six more SEC games against any of the other 13 SEC teams outside of the SEC South on a two-year home and home rotational basis. One or two of these games can be permanent to preserve rivalries. Of the two remaining regular season games on the schedule, one must be an FCS team to give them a guaranteed payment.

*If two teams in the SEC South end up with a 2-1 record the tiebreaker goes to the team with a better overall SEC record.

SEC Tournament: There will be an SEC Final Four. The South winner plays the North winner in one semifinal, and the West plays the East in the other. The two highest-ranked teams host the semifinal games and the title game remains in Atlanta.


National Champion:  

-          Winners of the five conferences play in the Final Four tournament.

-          Two lowest-ranked conference champions play to get into the NCAA Final Four as the #4 seed.

-          Seeds 1-3 get a week of rest while the game for the #4 seed is played.

-          In the Final Four #1 plays #4 in their home stadium and #2 plays #3 in their stadium; tickets are distributed evenly.

-          The national championship game is played in rotating venues, just like now.

Bowl Games: The number of bowl games is reduced to 15, and there is no longer a bowl/conference affiliation. Teams don’t have to have a certain amount of wins to be eligible and all teams can practice during the “bowl season.”

Are there a few mistakes and omissions? Of course, this is college football after all…

ACC South: Miami, Georgia Tech, Clemson, Virginia

ACC North: Boston College, Pittsburg, Syracuse, Rutgers

ACC East: UCONN, Army, Navy, Maryland

ACC West: North Carolina, N.C. State, Wake Forest, Duke


Big-10 South: Notre Dame, Louisville, Indiana, Purdue

Big-10 North: Penn. State, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Ohio State

Big-10 East: Illinois, Northwestern, Michigan, Michigan State

Big-10 West: Kansas, Kansas State, Iowa, Iowa State


Big 12 South: UTEP, Central Florida, South Florida, Houston

Big North: Texas Tech, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Nebraska

Big 12 East: Cincy, East Carolina, Miami (OH), West Virginia

Big 12 West: Texas, Houston, TCU, Baylor


PAC-10 South: UCLA, USC, Stanford, Cal

PAC-10 North: Washington, Washington State, Oregon, Oregon State

PAC-10 East: Colorado, Utah, BYU, Air Force

PAC-10 West: Arizona, Arizona State, Boise State, Fresno State

Tyler B. works as a communications specialist for a Louisville, Kentucky company.  A lifetime SEC fan – long before it became “acceptable” to cheer for every team in the conference – he plans on writing several books about college football that have a fantastic chance of never being written. 

Our Overtime section is a collection of columns, opinions and posts from outside parties.  The views expressed on this page do not reflect those of

If you have experience as a writer and would like to share your opinions on SEC news, contact us at



I fully support this. Here is my take on a very similar scenario that I wrote a while back (

Four 16-team super-conferences and four 8-team tier-2 conferences form, with a 12-team post-season tournament.

The super-conferences have 4 divisions and a 4-team playoff to determine the conference champion and runner-up. The tier-2 conferences have 2 divisions and a championship game to determine the conference champion.

The super-conferences (perhaps SEC, Big 12, B1G, PAC initially) send BOTH their conference champion and runner-up to the tournament.

The other four conferences (perhaps ACC, Big East, CUSA, and WAC initially) send only their conference champion to the tournament.

Every 5 or 10 years, the conferences who are allowed two entrants may change based on each conference's playoff win-percentage over that period. The 4 conferences with the best win-percentages get two entrants. There would obviously have to be a way to determine who gets it if there are tied win-percentages.

The first four games of the tournament are played at equidistant neutral sites.

The second round games are played in the BCS Bowls.

The semi-finals and championship games are rotated between the BCS bowls every year.

The conference match-ups in the tournament should be rotated each year, so you don't always have the same conference match-ups. But keep in mind that you can't have two teams from the same conference match up until possibly in the championship game.

Non-BCS bowls can pick and choose from the non-qualifying teams, in the same way as they currently do.

Here is an example of what the tournament would look like:


  1. urlman cow says:

    Healing’s Dragon

    to find difficulties to improve my web-site!I suppose its okay to generate usage of a couple of of your respective ideas!!

  2. fast payday cash advance

    Get fast payday cash advance on my website

  3. fast allied cash advance

    Get information about fast allied cash advance on our site

  4. Gems form the internet

    [...]very few websites that happen to be detailed below, from our point of view are undoubtedly well worth checking out[...]…

  5. google pagerank

    Fantastic Morning, I just stopped in to go to your internet site and imagined I’d say I loved myself.

Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC