Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt
Latest News

Muschamp Summons Inner-McGavin, Weaves Tapestry Of Obscenity On National TV

So that’s why they call him Coach Boom.  He drops F-bombs that explode on national television.

Florida’s Will Muschamp — known for his intensity — did more than stare when SEC officials royally botched a call in Saturday’s game between the Gators and Auburn.  He let loose with a long barrage of screams and expletives for the ESPN cameras to capture. 

(NSFW.  While this is a tape of a tape — and will likely stay available longer — the audio isn’t great.  But beware to all lip-readers, too.)





As you can see from the tape, the refs should’ve flagged Auburn for interfering with a fair catch.  Instead, they ruled the play a fumble and gave Auburn the ball at the Gators’ 32.  Three plays later the Tigers had a touchdown in their 17-6 win.

Following the game, Muschamp said, “I can’t comment on that,” when asked about the play/tirade.

While UF fans will likely back their coach — especially since he was correct in his assessment of the call — it’s doubtful that Florida president Bernie Machen wants his coach to get a reputation for being the Old Man Parker of the SEC.

“In the heat of the battle, my father wove a tapestry of obscenity, that as far as we know, is still hanging in space over Lake Michigan.”

 


9 comments
Jeff in Auburn
Jeff in Auburn

John, since you state the officials muffed the call (your opinion) you would be more accurate in reporting that Steve Shaw, head of SEC officiating, responded to this specific play and said the correct call was made. I'm sure this is more noteworthy and accurate from a journalistic standpoint.

Dave
Dave

It's the time-out and dead air that drives the production crew immortalizing the moment. Coach K at Duke does the same thing all game, every game, but he mutes himself during dead balls most of the time, for good reason. Plus, he's K, so he gets a pass.

AGator
AGator

Some of the reasons coaches give for arguing with refs are that:

1) The refs are more likely to call the next one favorably to "make up" for the last call.
2) It motivates the team to see the coach fighting for them.

I think I've read that Florida is one of the most penalized teams in the country so it's hard to see that there have been many "make up" calls. I haven't noticed any bias in the way the refs call the games. Each team seems equally likely to get the occasional bad call. I don't see much point to the motivation argument either.

I think it's just the personality of the coach.

Gator Whisperer
Gator Whisperer

I'm surprised Boom didn't get flagged. He deserved it.

While huge at the time, it turns out that it wasn't the difference in the game. (And Rainey did get touched, and the ball did drift into the Auburn player, but no excuses for the other 300 muffed punts).

Also, I swear Addazio is still calling the offense.

Dycacian
Dycacian

Did it look to anyone else from the back that Rainey tried to move towards McCalebb at the last second when the ball arrived to try to get a penalty before he caught the ball? It almost looked like he was more interested in getting the penalty than he was catching the ball. Watch closely at his left arm and shoulder. It is like he stuck his elbow out towards McCalebb as the ball arrived. One would think you would clutch the ball in.

Snarlton
Snarlton

The only difference between Muschamp's tirade and similar tirades around college football, is that for some strange reason ESPN chose to point the microphone at him and let the world listen in this time. Usually we are left to lip-read the tirades. The fact that ESPN made a point of listening in to Muschamp and keeping the volume up for obscenity after obscenity points to them having an agenda of some sort. They could easily have muted that long outburst. I hope they don't do that with Petrino.

@whtrentham
@whtrentham

Is there a halo rule in college football? I know there isn't one in the pro's anymore. The rule in the pro's is only that you can't touch the returner. It doesn't look as if rainey was physically touched...but if there IS indeed a halo rule that was obviously a botched call. However, Rainey being a veteran returner and not being touched on this play, he should have caught and secured the ball regardless.

Fayettechill14
Fayettechill14

I kind of noticed that too...there's no way he was hit hard enough to turn a full 90 degrees and look at McCalebb as he did immediately afterwards...while the ball was still live. Also, he needs to finish the play and not turn and look at the ref the second he drops it. That was a live ball.

AllTideUp
AllTideUp

There isn't a halo rule in college anymore. Th rule is that you have to give the returner a reasonable chance to catch the ball. It's a little subjective.

Trackbacks

  1. [...] we showed you the much talked about clip of Florida’s Will Muschamp going nuclear following a bad call in last Saturday’s loss [...]



Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC