Albama Arkansas Auburn Florida Georgia Kentucky LSU Mississippi State Missouri Ole-Miss USC Tennessee Texas A&M Vanderbilt
Latest News

Wilbon Says UK Should Tell The NCAA To

Tony Kornheiser and Michael Wilbon took up the issue of John Calipari’s 500 wins — and whether or not Kentucky should have given him a celebration for them — on ESPN’s “Pardon The Interruption” yesterday.

Wilbon no doubt made new fans all across the Bluegrass State when he said that UK officials should pick up the phone, call the NCAA, and tell them to “go to hell.”

Oh, yeah.  That would be a very smart thing to do.

As you know, UK was at fault for celebrating Calipari’s 500th victory last season when it knew full well that according to the NCAA’s record book he was still short of that plateau.

As a result, the NCAA then tried to remind schools not to ignore its rulings by demanding that UK officials apologize for the Calipari celebration.

Kentucky officials have balked at apologizing.

These two groups are one-upping one another in terms of silliness.  There are times to make a stand in life and UK officials should know that this is not one of those times.  Especially since their initial celebration was half-cocked to begin with.

We’ve said it before: UK officials should just apologize and move on rather than draw the NCAA’s gaze down upon Lexington.

But for all the Wildcat fans who strongly disagree with that take, here’s the clip of Wilbon rabble-rousing.  (Thanks to John Clay of The Lexington Herald-Leader for the tip.)




 


3 comments
Andrew K
Andrew K

Questions: Who is UK supposed to apologize to...the NCAA? What rule was broken? Does the NCAA have the authority to punish UK if they don't respond? Why did the NCAA give UK permission to announce the 500th win and then ask for an apology afterward?

James Hunt
James Hunt

It seems to me the fact that U Mass has continued to hang a Final Four banner should be of more concern to the NCAA than a 40 second celebration.

John
John

I agree wholeheartedly. Although vacation of wins is an official NCAA-sanctioned penalty, it should be limited to what the NCAA has in their record books. If UK wants to give their well-paid basketball coach a little award, then it's none of the NCAA's business. They're overstepping their bounds here. Good take, Pennington.



Follow Us On:
Mobile MrSEC